Brian Weiss

USTelecom Elects New Board Chair, Officers and Leadership Committee Members

Seasoned executive leaders from across the technology and broadband ecosystem, representing large and small providers in all corners of the country; association welcomes Twilio as new member

WASHINGTON – USTelecom | The Broadband Association today announced new officers and several additions to its Board of Directors and Leadership Committee.

Board of Directors

Russell “Rusty” Moore, General Manager of BBT, was elected to serve as the new Chair of the USTelecom Board of Directors. BBT is a leading Texas communications and broadband provider serving consumers across West Texas. As Vice Chair, the Board elected Kathy Grillo, SVP, Public Policy and Government Affairs at Verizon.

Other board officers include: Darby McCarty, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Smithville Communications (Secretary); and Mark Nielsen, Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Secretary, Frontier Communications (Treasurer).

USTelecom also announced San Francisco-based Twilio, a leading cloud communications platform, has joined the association. Karyn Smith, Twilio’s General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, joined USTelecom’s Board.

Members elected to serve on the Board of Directors for another term are: Jeff England, Vice President and CFO, Silver Star Communications; Chris French, President and CEO, Shentel; Dan Overland, Senior Vice President, Pottawatomie Telephone Company; and Marty Rubin, President and CEO, Smart City.

“USTelecom’s members are an outstanding group of connectivity leaders and innovators serving consumers in every corner of the country. Rusty and Kathy have some big and bold ideas for the future of broadband and the broader technology ecosystem and our association is grateful to them for their service as new Board Chair and Vice Chair,” said Jonathan Spalter, President and CEO of USTelecom.

Leadership Committee

Jason Williams, CEO of Montana-based Blackfoot Communications, was elected Chair of USTelecom’s Leadership Committee, comprised of executives from small-to-medium sized broadband innovators, many serving communities across the United States. He will serve alongside Jeff England, Vice President and CFO, Silver Star Communications who was elected Vice Chair and Dan Overland, Senior Vice President, Pottawatomie Telephone Company who was elected Secretary.

Members elected to serve on the Leadership Committee for another term are: Trent Boaldin, President and CEO, EPICTOUCH; Darby McCarty, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Smithville Communications; Marty Rubin, CEO and President, Smart City; and Richard Ruhl, General Manager, Pioneer Telephone Cooperative.

New members elected to the Leadership Committee are: Barry Adair, EVP and CEO, Wabash Communications; Mark Gailey, President and General Manager, Totah Communications

Bill Ironside, CEO, EATEL; Jim McCarthy, President, Oneida County Telephone; and Kirby Underberg, CEO and General Manager, Chariton Valley Telephone.

Spalter added: “Jason and our Leadership Committee know what it takes to bring connectivity to communities across the country. This is experience that matters. At a moment when Washington is making very big decisions about rural broadband spending, we’re fortunate to have this team of leaders help guide our work.”